Richard Markwell (AGCO) elected new President of CEMA


“Exciting and challenging time” to represent the interests of Europe’s agricultural machinery industry

Brussels – Richard Markwell, Vice President and Managing Director Massey Ferguson in Europe, Africa and Middle East (EAME), has been elected new President of CEMA, the association representing the producers of agricultural machinery in Europe.

Mr. Markwell takes over the Presidency from Gilles Dryancour (John Deere) who has chaired the association for the past five years. The official handover took place during the last CEMA Board meeting in Brussels on 18 June.

Commenting on the election, Mr. Markwell said: “It is a pleasure and honour to take over the chairmanship of CEMA at such an exciting and challenging time.”

“Today, agricultural machinery represents a remarkably strong, vibrant and dynamic industry sector in Europe. Working together with the CEMA members, my aim is to ensure that our industry will continue to flourish and be in a position to offer innovative solutions to farmers worldwide.”

“On a global level, advanced farm machinery solutions are taking on a key role to meet the global challenge of doubling world food production and feeding 10 billion people in a sustainable manner by 2050.”

“At European level, CEMA will work closely with the new European Commission and Parliament to ensure that the EU will find appropriate policy concepts that will benefit Europe’s industrial base, including the agricultural machinery sector.”

British-born Mr. Markwell joined Massey Ferguson in 1975 with degrees from universities in London, England and Aix-en-Provence, France. With widespread international experience, he has held a variety of senior European sales and marketing positions with AGCO. Since 2005, he is Vice President and Managing Director Massey Ferguson in Europe, Africa and Middle East (EAME). Prior to this, he was Vice President Customer Support, EAME with responsibility for Parts and Service across all AGCO brands.

The CEMA President is elected for a two-year term and is eligible for re-election once.

Please follow and like us: